The WEPRIN Record

Posted: September 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

The WEPRIN Record
 
 

 

 

V

O

T

E

S

 

 

May 17, 2010

FOR  “DASA” (Dignity for All Students Act) A03661

 

(Section 801-A) Requires a course  of instruction in grades kindergarten through twelve [which] includes a component on  civility, tolerance and respect for and sensitivity to different RACES…SEXUAL ORIENTATIONS, GENDERS, AND SEXES.

 

   

Jul. 01, 2010

 

FOR homosexual adoption

 

 

Permits adoption by two unmarried adult intimate partners.

   

 

Jun. 14, 2011

 

FOR  “GENDA” (Gender Expression Non-Discrimination Act)

 

 

Prohibits discrimination based on gender identity or expression…[having or being perceived as having a gender

identity, self image, appearance, behavior or expression whether or not that gender identity, self image, appearance, behavior or expression is different from that traditionally associated with the sex assigned to that person at birth…] subject to treatment as hate crime…

 

     

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

Q

U

O

T

E

S

 

July 7, 2011

 

[Democratic congressional candidate David Weprin explains his support for legalizing same-sex marriage, during a July 7, 2011 appearance at the Thomas Jefferson Democratic Club in Brooklyn.]

 

“I did vote for marriage equality…I look at [same sex marriage] as a civil rights issue.”
    “I’m an observant Jew myself…I don’t think the state should be dictating what kind of religious ceremony that should be sanctioned by the state.”
    “We’re talking about civil marriage and along with that, marriage brings about 1300 additional rights that civil unions do not. So, I thought it was the right thing to do.”
   
   

 

 

 Mar. 25, ‘09

 

[David Weprin discusses his record on LGBT issues during a March 25, 2009 meeting of the Stonewall Democrats, in Manhattan.]

 

“Since I got elected to the Council in 2001, I’ve been a co-sponsor of just about every bill of concern to the LGBT community…”
    “I am an observant Jew, I belong to an Orthodox Synagogue, and I’ve had debates with my Rabbis on gay marriage which I am a strong supporter of…”
    “The SONDA (Sexual Orientation Non-Discrimination Act) Bill took a while but we finally passed it.”
    “It [‘marriage equality’] is a position that I strongly believed in…and…I argued with other people in the Orthodox Jewish community and I’ve been a very strong advocate.”
     

 

Leave a Reply

